The Basics of RC
Airplanes and Helicopters

What You Need to Know

Holiday Gift Guide

Not sure what to get someone this holiday season? View Our Gift Guide

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter
and receive new product announcements and release date updates, as well as special offers.
Find us on Facebook Find us on Youtube
PKZ1980

F4F Wildcat BNF

ParkZone PKZ1980 Airplane (Discontinued)
This item is discontinued but parts are still available in the Parts List below.
Related Items

Reviews


PKZ1980

F4F Wildcat BNF - Summary
Quality 4.8 out of 5
Fun 4.8 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 4.6 out of 5
Appearance 4.7 out of 5
12 out of 12 (100.00%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
 Filters
Overall
Quality
Fun
Value
Durability
Appearance
What type of hobbyist are you?
How often do you use this product?
What is your age?
How long have you been participating in this hobby?
Click on the Filters above to refine results
Reviews
BEBO from Texas
My First Electric
08/12/2010
Quality 4 out of 5
Fun 4 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 5 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

Well, I thought I would try one and made a good choice. A good deal from Hobby Zone (free shipping and an extra discounted battery). Easy to assemble and looks are outstanding. Good performance after some trim adjustments. Fun to fly and seems to be durable. The only down side is the charger, kinda cheap and useless, (they should recommend a charger purchase) so I used my own. All in all a great product!
What type of hobbyist are you? Recreational
How often do you use this product? Several times a month
What is your age? 46-55
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 11-20 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (5)   No (0)
octoberlizard from Vevay Indiana
F4F My second plane
08/20/2010
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 4 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

This plane is great fun. Same powerplant as T28 but smaller airframe and lighter. This is my second plane after my Super Cub LP. Very stable in the air and quite responsive on high rates. Plane definately gives you confidence. I was able to fly inverted on second flight. Very easy to land.
What type of hobbyist are you? Beginner
How often do you use this product? Several times a week
What is your age? 30-45
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (4)   No (0)
Cube from Ohio
F4F Wildcat
12/06/2010
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 4 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

This bird is well made and flies great. It seems as fast as the P-51D from PKZ and handles a little bit better with the rudder. I would like to see a mod for landing gear but I don't really mind the hand launch. Makes for an easier landing when it's windy. I would highly recommend it to any skill level pilot.. It's agile and easy flying. Great fun.
What type of hobbyist are you? Intermediate
How often do you use this product? Several times a week
What is your age? Over 55
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 11-20 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (3)   No (0)
Bluto from Brigham City, UT
Second Plane
04/30/2011
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 5 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

This is my second plane after the Super Cub. Easy and fun to fly. I added my own landing gear. It has decent power. It flies at slow speeds well.
What type of hobbyist are you? Beginner
How often do you use this product? Several times a week
What is your age? 30-45
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (4)   No (0)
joe connick from Morton, IL
Another fine product from ParkZone
05/31/2011
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 5 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

This is my fifth plane from Horizon Hobbies, I have a Super Cub, 2 Mini Cubs, 1 P51D Mustang and 1 WildCat. They are all Excellent.
What type of hobbyist are you? Recreational
How often do you use this product? Several times a week
What is your age? 46-55
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (2)   No (0)
Gamerjoe from Southern California
Excellent beginner warbird!
08/15/2011
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 4 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 4 out of 5
Appearance 4 out of 5

After a few weeks of flying my trainer Super Cub around, I made the leap into my first warbird purchase. I was very nervous because a warbird is supposed to be more difficult to fly. It is true that any warbird is a more difficult plane than a Super Cub, but the F4F Wildcat made my first warbird experience a very sweet one! I was doing loops and barrel rolls on my first flight, with ease! After 5 flights I was so comfortable that I started doing inverted flight and hammer heads. This plane is amazing! My second flight, I made the rookie mistake of trying to fly it in a very small park. I ended up coming in too fast on a landing and I slammed the plane into the ground. The overall durability is excellent, but I have to say that the plastic cowling is very brittle and you will probably replace yours many times.
What type of hobbyist are you? Intermediate
How often do you use this product? Several times a week
What is your age? 30-45
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (3)   No (0)
Rayzor One from Virginia Beach, VA
Excellent First Plane
05/23/2012
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 5 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

The Wildcat is a great-flying sturdy little plane. I would only recommend it as a first plane to someone who has spent a lot of time on a good simulator. It would also be helpful to fly it initially with an experienced pilot and a trainer setup, but that is not always possible for everybody. I made the mistake of buying the P-47 first. It is difficult for a beginner to hand launch that plane and even more diifficult to take off and land with gear. I had a few minor mishaps with the first hand launches of the Wildcat just due to nerves, but after that it was a breeze. After flying the Wildcat a while, I had the confidence to go back and fly the P-47. The Wildcat easily takes larger batteries and handles the weight well. From what I've seen, I think the Wildcat is more stable than the P-51. I have now flown the Wildcat about 50 times, have modified it to make it faster, have a camera mount, and I am still having great fun with it. This is a great little Warbird that can fly about anywhere. I highly recommend it for its fun factor alone.
What type of hobbyist are you? Beginner
How often do you use this product? Several times a month
What is your age? Over 55
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (2)   No (0)
Dalton from Colorado Springs, CO
Very Fun Plane!
07/30/2012
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 5 out of 5
Appearance 4 out of 5

This plane is a blast to fly! At first the plane was very nose heavy, so I had to add a tail weight. Now it flies great! Also this plane is a lot more acrobatic than most of the other ParkZone war birds.
What type of hobbyist are you? Intermediate
How often do you use this product? Several times a week
What is your age? Under 15
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (2)   No (0)
Fat Boy from Corydon, IN
Great Plane, Easy to Fly
11/08/2012
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 4 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

This is the sixth ParkZone plane I have bought. It was very easy to fly right from the box - no trim needed. The thing I like best about this plane is that you can fly it anywhere. It's very easy to land as long as you have a good soft field to land on. The only problem I've had is with the cowl; it's very brittle. You should order several because it will break no matter where you land or how soft the field. This plane is also very good on windy days. I give Parkzone an A+ on this one.
What type of hobbyist are you? Intermediate
How often do you use this product? Several times a week
What is your age? Over 55
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (2)   No (0)
Bruin12 from Los Angeles, CA
Great Second Plane
07/02/2011
Quality 5 out of 5
Fun 5 out of 5
Value 5 out of 5
Durability 5 out of 5
Appearance 5 out of 5

I have a lot of time on the RealFlight RC simulator and with the HZ Champ, but had a hard time figuring out what my second plane should be. I like scale WWI and WWII models, but they can be a challenge to fly. My second plane was the PZ UM Corsair, with which I have had three brief flights and two hard crashes. The plane is sitting in the garage waiting on a new wing. After doing some reading and watching reviews of the F4F Wildcat, I decided that it might be the right step up.

It turns out that I was right. After warming up on my Champ this morning, I maidened my Wildcat and I had no problems flying it at all (yes, I found it much easier to fly than the UM Corsair). This is significant especially in light of the fact that I accidentally flew it on high rates. It is easy to hand launch (by the operator), goes where you point it and is extremely quiet. It shares great qualities with the HZ Champ: ability to fly and turn predictably at low throttle settings while having the ability to instantly power out of problems with the application of more throttle. I had no problem going from three to four channel control (rudder moving from the right to left stick). I mainly "banked and yanked" but did input rudder on some turns to try it out.

Unlike the Champ, the Wildcat is definitely fully aerobatic. My first flight included inside loops, one inverted pass with in outside loop, a ragged barrel roll (my bad) and wingovers. I don't recommend doing all of this on the first flight, as mine ended in a mild crash (no damage). My second flight was about working on the basics, like performing smooth circuits in both directions and setting up approaches. I made several successful landings with on the wet grass of my field without incident. It glides in quite a bit hotter than my Champ, needing much more room, but is predictable. Flaps would have been nice option, but are not necessary.

Miscellaneous notes. The included charger is DC only which is largely useless to me. To be able to use the charger at home and work I bought the PZ AC charger adapter for the included charger. It is inexpensive and works fine. Like all Parkzone models, this plane is made of foam and looks like it up close. I like the way it looks in the hand and in the air, so no issues there. Other reviewers have noted that the paint was tacky on their models; however this was not a problem with mine. The top side paint scheme was designed to help the real plane blend into the sky. I flew on a cloudless morning with no trouble seeing the plane, but can easily imagine flying conditions where the model will be tough to see. Guys have used the Wildcat as a platform for making exceptional HD videos.

In conclusion, the Wildcat is a great second plane for someone who has mastered the basics. See you out there.

What type of hobbyist are you? Beginner
How often do you use this product? Several times a month
What is your age? 46-55
How long have you been participating in this hobby? 1-3 years
Was this review helpful?   Yes (3)   No (0)